What are A level qualifications?

A levels, are the study that students take on after completing their GCSEs at secondary school. They are usually studied over a period of two years and consist of three subjects minimum. Although it is a qualification that is studied in the UK, it is recognised worldwide. Students can use this particular qualification to move onto higher education later on in life. Here is some advice from a Private college in North London, on what A level qualifications are.

What subjects can be studied?

A levels differ from GCSEs is as there is no compulsory subjects that need to be studied. Students have the option to choose subjects that they are interested in and feel will benefit them in the future. The students will typically choose three subjects or more. These subjects include:

  • English Language & Literature
  • Maths
  • Biology, Physics, Chemistry
  • History
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Art
  • Geography
  • modern foreign languages

Depending on the college or sixth form your child attends, the selection can vary.

How are they assessed?

At the end of the two years of studying, students are expected to take written exams. there is also some coursework that can be offered to particular subjects as they contribute to the final grade. The scale runs from A*- E. Students who fail to meet the grade boundaries receive a U. if a student fails the exam, they have to reset the entire paper again. It is worth bearing in mind that A levels can be retaken as many times as necessary.

Why choose A levels?

A levels are an excellent choice for those who have a clear idea of what they would like to excel in. It is great for those who have strengths in certain areas of academics, as they can focus more towards those and drop the subjects that they don’t really deem necessary in their future career.

Leave a Reply